Narrow Search

Comment Archives: Locations: Goods & Services

Re: “Rick West Theater

I played in the band for a short time in 2011. I heard the promises that if I stuck with him, things would take off and I'd be rewarded handsomely. Naturally, I never saw a dime. He even charged me full price for my GF at the time to see the show. Oh, the stories I could tell of how the "star" was the most unprofessional, least talented of the bunch. But I'll leave you with one anecdote that convinced me it was time to move on.

At the time, I was living 65 miles from Independence. I drove round trip each Thursday for practice and each Saturday for the big show. That's 260 miles each week. A few times, I showed up for practice only to find out it had been canceled and "I thought I told so-n-so to call you." Plus, he was talking of adding a dance night on Friday which would bump me up to nearly 400 miles a week for the chance to play for free. Anyway, Rick's mother was in the hospital and he had the audacity to complain on stage of driving nearly 100 miles that week.

If somehow the band and backup singers I worked with could wrestle the theatre away from Rick, that place could make money.

1 like, 1 dislike
Posted by Dobro Dan on 10/25/2014 at 12:55 AM

Re: “Buffalo Creek Winery

Sorry you had such a bad experience. I am sure the owners were most likely away and if they had been there, you never would have been treated the way you were.

The owners are very nice, friendly and if you get there near to closing, they will still pick you up and be very cordial. I have been there many times over a lot of years. They have music once in a while during the summer and it is fun to sit out with your wine and listen. (And even join in.) Great way to spend an afternoon at the lake. I vote for it and hope you will give Buffalo Creek Winery another try next summer!
You will enjoy it and want to go back again.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Nan on 10/18/2014 at 2:35 PM

Re: “The Harmon Diabetes Center

boring, long. do not waste your time.

Posted by Lyuda West on 10/03/2014 at 4:22 PM

Re: “Fraction Print Gallery

Great print studio/gallery tucked behind Oracle Fine Curiosities

Posted by Rea on 10/03/2014 at 10:38 AM

Re: “Fitness Training for Life

our location has changed to, 11118 Antioch Road Overland Park Kansas 66210,please email us for more information@workmout@Gmail.com or call us at 816-804-8196

Posted by Pejman Jp Baha on 09/12/2014 at 1:19 PM

Re: “Martin City

I love Martin City!

Posted by murphy7000 on 09/03/2014 at 5:27 PM

Re: “Sinbad's Cafe and Hookah Lounge

It's the best place to smoke hookah and to sit and chat. The employees there are wonderful and friendly. The owner is a great guy. There are many people from all the countries that come there. The place isn't dark or loud. Number 1 hookah place for me.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Soosoo Qandil on 09/01/2014 at 8:30 PM

Re: “Vaughn Orchard & Country Store

Vaughn's Orchard is no more - the apple trees are all gone. It's been closed several years now. In it's place is a store called Farmers House, a non-profit organization. The store is a fund raiser to finance programs for developmental disabled kids and adults.

1 like, 2 dislikes
Posted by RonK on 08/27/2014 at 2:43 PM

Re: “Roanoke Park

Roanoke Park is one of the nicest "groomed" city parks you will find. It does not have the extra funding that Loose Park or others have but the professional cutter, Aaron Anderson, is a resident and mows, trims it like few in the city would ever try. I'll put Roanoke Park up against all other "unfunded" city parks in the entire region for detail trimming and quality of cut. It's really an urban oasis unlike most city parks in KC.

Posted by Deacon on 08/23/2014 at 12:19 AM

Re: “KC Free Health Clinic

facial treatment :- We provide Make-Up, Make-Over, Facial Treatment, Manicure & Pedicure, Eye Lash Extension Services and Personal Consultation and Personal Make-up Courses.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Dineshlohar on 08/21/2014 at 1:15 AM

Re: “Buffalo Creek Winery

Very disappointed! The lady that came down the hill to pick us up was not friendly. It was obvious she was put out that she had to come down the hill. There were 11 of us and you would think that would be a good thing for the winery. Guess not, we were putting her out. Four of us had been to the winery a few weeks prior. Crystal was working and was a lot of fun and took her time with us! We tasted 5 or 6 wines and she told us that they would be bottling some more and should have by 4th of July. The lady helping us just threw wine glasses out and poured the wine in like it was a race and stood there waiting for us to just drink it down so she could go to the next wine. Which was hilarious now as to "what's the hurry" because she only had one red and one white wine for us to try. Couldn't believe it, we had talked this place up that it would be a lot of fun! Especially, since we could boat down to winery. This was a reunion for my daughters Grad School Class and what a bomb it was. There was not any more wine ready to taste or purchase. It is our understanding that some had been bottled but not labeled yet. We stayed and bought one red and one white wine, the only options! Ha! Trying to salvage a good time with the group we stayed and drank the wine even ordered the meat and cheese tray. Again, trying to make this a good experience in some way. So when we got ready to leave and loaded up to go back down the hill, here came two couples that had walked up the hill to the winery. Our lady stopped and the people said there was nothing at the bottom of the hill to let someone know they needed to be picked up. The reply was I am closing early and took the phone up. The couples said you are open until 6:00 and it is only 5:30. She said we are closed. Could not believe it, they had walked up that big hill and it was not closing time yet. She turned them away. Wouldn't have took her but a minute to throw the two wines out there for them to try. Word was just getting out that the winery had opened and seems like people were trying to give them some business but seems as though the business objective is to see how many people you can run off. Terrible experience! The only reason I gave one star is because of the view. Management wake up. This could be a great opportunity but you have to want to manage to be successful! Employees are only going to be as good as they are managed! Maybe, you need to sale the winery to someone who will see the opportunity and make this successful! With the right management and workers it could be great!

0 likes, 3 dislikes
Posted by Sherbert on 08/19/2014 at 12:11 PM

Re: “Pete and Mac's

I give this location 5 stars.

I toured before lodging my dog here and their location was very clean and well kept. My dog seemed to have a wonderful time staying here. The "pet guardians" seemed very caring and were very nice to me and my pup. :)

Posted by doglover95 on 08/18/2014 at 1:43 PM

Re: “The Buffalo Room at the Westport Flea Market

A poignant portrayal of a Vietnamese family's escape from Vietnam and journey to the Midwest, through narration and original music. I truly enjoyed this play, and highly recommend it. Vi Tran is a gifted writer, actor and musician and his supporting cast is very talented too. I have known many refugees from Vietnam over the past 35 years, and Vi's family's story is a beautiful tribute not only to his parents' courage and love, but to all immigrant families coming to America.

1 like, 0 dislikes
Posted by Shari Blue on 08/10/2014 at 6:56 PM

Re: “Black Dog Coffeehouse

Awesome coffee shop - great staff - great coffee....love it all

Posted by Sandy Sawyer McDowell on 07/30/2014 at 9:58 PM

Re: “Rick West Theater

I can concur with all of the previous posters. I dont know when their blogs were posted, but I can tell you that everything said about him is true....unfortunately. I had the misfortune of working for him singing in his stage show for a brief time in 2007. He never paid me a dime, nor did he ever pay his devoted "zombie" band a dime. He must have slipped them some of that "kool-aid" bcuz they played and played for him for no pay, like he was really something. The band wasnt bad either. Sounds like another wanna-be ETA I was once associated with....who was glad to use everyone else's money, lie and deceive to get what he wanted, and to this day is still trying to be "Elvis". There will only be ONE Elvis, and no other talent can compare....and certainly not that wannabe or Rick West included. All I can say is, this outfit with Rick West and the theatre there in Indep MO was a disorganized mess. Rick soon showed his chauvanistic side by making it obvious that women were just a piece of meat to him. He disrepected me one time ON stage at a rehearsal on Sat afternoon in front of his zombie band, and that was it for me. I walked out on him, and as I left the building, his Octagenarian mother who was acting like a guard dog at the front door said to me....where are you going? I said I have had enough of disrespect an unprofessionalism. If you ask me, I think she was the one running the whole show, just to glorify the past when Rick West had a few "glory days" in Branson....and she could not let go of the past in which they were all living. I dont know what has become of Rick West today, but everyone says there are no shows anymore, and every time Im driving by that area, the theatre is deserted, and in run down condition. Never see any cars there. Guess he finally gave it up at last. This is 2014. Giving him one star because I cant post ZERO stars. Red Headed Songbird.

5 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by Debbie Willoughby Longchamps on 06/26/2014 at 5:07 PM

Re: “Charles Ball Sun Fresh

This store is no good....... Do not apply there........ They don't make their workers respect the other workers.............yea they have good food but they don't have a good impression............

0 likes, 1 dislike
Posted by worker199 on 05/23/2014 at 12:16 PM

Re: “Chaz on the Plaza

The lounge has jazz all but one night a week. No cover. A smaller menu from a very good kitchen is great. Staff nice and personable. Outdoor space fun and in summer there is string concerts on the green and in winter a couple of fire pits. Seasonal drinks for summer. A great place to start the evening or end an evening.

Posted by Traveler Diner on 05/13/2014 at 8:42 PM

Re: “Boulevard Tires

Its a shame on how busniess is conducted here from a long term employees ive seen people come and seen people go if u as a owner shit all over every employee u ever had ur busniess will fail

Posted by just a guy on 05/02/2014 at 8:16 AM

Re: “Boulevard Tires

Its a shame on how busniess is conducted here from a long term employees ive seen people come and seen people go if u as a owner shit all over every employee u ever had ur busniess will fail

Posted by just a guy on 05/02/2014 at 7:07 AM

Re: “Boulevard Tires

Well if u used to own the place and havent been there in years please dont write bogus reviews. sure hate the way that place has gone down hill

Posted by just a guy on 05/02/2014 at 6:52 AM

All contents ©2014 Kansas City Pitch LLC
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of Kansas City Pitch LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.

All contents © 2012 SouthComm, Inc. 210 12th Ave S. Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of SouthComm, Inc.
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Website powered by Foundation