Big Game? 

The appeal of a sport is its unambiguous gauge for success: One cannot spin a loss. That is not exactly true, however, of the Northern League, whose overly complicated measurements of success can confuse. The T-Bones have one of the worst overall records in the Northern League, but the boys can still clinch a playoff spot by finishing with the best record in the South Division in the second half of the season. By contrast, the Gary Southshore Railcats clinched a playoff appearance by winning the first half crown in the South Division, having since played the second half of the season with complacency. The T-Bones and the Railcats play today in the season’s penultimate game at Community America Ballpark (1800 Village West Parkway in Kansas City, Kansas). The playoff implications of the game may be difficult to explain, but the loud pyrotechnics in the postgame fireworks show are relatively straightforward. Tickets cost $8.50 to $14.50. Call 913-328-2255. T-Bones Railcats
Tue., June 5, 7:05 p.m.; Wed., June 6, 7:05 p.m.; Thu., June 7, 11:05 a.m.; Tue., Aug. 14, 7:05 p.m.; Wed., Aug. 15, 7:05 p.m.; Thu., Aug. 16, 7:05 p.m.; Wed., Aug. 29, 7:05 p.m.; Thu., Aug. 30, 7:05 p.m.; Fri., Aug. 31, 7:05 p.m.; Sat., Sept. 1, 7:05 p.m.; Sun., Sept. 2, 1:05 p.m.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Chris Rasmussen

Latest in Night & Day

Most Popular Stories

Facebook Activity

All contents ©2015 Kansas City Pitch LLC
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of Kansas City Pitch LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.

All contents © 2012 SouthComm, Inc. 210 12th Ave S. Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of SouthComm, Inc.
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Website powered by Foundation