BRAINS BUFFET 

From the ghoulish lair of Egads Theatre (and just in time for Halloween), the company that brought us Eating Raoul, The Rocky Horror Show and Hedwig and the Angry Inch now gives us the all-singing, all-dancing, blood-curdling horror revue Evil Dead: The Musical. Requiring absolutely no familiarity with the source material — Sam Raimi's cult films The Evil Dead, Evil Dead II and Army of Darkness — the musical throws demons, zombies and bad jokes into the cauldron and turns up the blowtorch. Will the hero kill the demons in time? Do chain-saw-severed limbs fly? With such ditties as "All the Men in My Life Keep Getting Killed by Candarian Demons" and "Ode to Accidental Stabbing," Evil Dead: The Musical has you whistling all the way home in the dark. The production, at Off Center Theatre (2450 Grand, Crown Center, 816-842-9999), previews at 8 p.m. tonight and Saturday; tickets cost $10. It runs through November 6, but the performance schedule varies; for showtimes and ticket prices, see egadstheatre.com. And wear clothes you don't mind getting bloody — seriously.— Grace Suh
Fri., Oct. 8, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 9, 8 p.m.; Mon., Oct. 11, 8 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 15, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 16, 8 p.m.; Mon., Oct. 18, 8 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 22, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 23, 8 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 28, 8 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 29, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 30, 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 31, 8 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 6, 8 p.m., 2010

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Night & Day

Facebook Activity

All contents ©2014 Kansas City Pitch LLC
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of Kansas City Pitch LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.

All contents © 2012 SouthComm, Inc. 210 12th Ave S. Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of SouthComm, Inc.
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Website powered by Foundation