Have Mercy for the Memory of Mercer 

Stars, no matter how bright, don't burn forever. Take the case of Johnny Mercer, a popular and well-regarded midcentury songwriter, lyricist and (occasional) singer. He penned more than 1,500 songs during the course of his career but faded from the collective pop-culture consciousness. In order to rectify this and brighten Mercer's star, Quality Hill Playhouse (303 West 10th Street) presents Blues in the Night, a tribute to the man's lyrics. Among the songs that singers take on: "One for My Baby," "Autumn Leaves" and "Skylark." The production runs through February 20. Tickets cost $24-$26; call 816-421-1700 or see qualityhillplayhouse.com for more information.— Danny Volin


Fri., Jan. 14, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 15, 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 16, 3 & 8 p.m.; Mon., Jan. 17, 8 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 19, 8 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 20, 1 & 8 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 21, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 22, 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 23, 3 & 8 p.m.; Mon., Jan. 24, 8 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 26, 8 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 27, 1 & 8 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 28, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 29, 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 30, 3 & 8 p.m.; Tue., Feb. 1, 8 p.m.; Wed., Feb. 2, 1 & 8 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 3, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 4, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 5, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 6, 3 p.m.; Tue., Feb. 8, 8 p.m.; Wed., Feb. 9, 1 & 8 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 10, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 11, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 12, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 13, 3 p.m.; Wed., Feb. 16, 1 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 17, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 18, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 19, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 20, 3 p.m., 2011

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Night & Day

Most Popular Stories

Facebook Activity

All contents ©2014 Kansas City Pitch LLC
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of Kansas City Pitch LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.

All contents © 2012 SouthComm, Inc. 210 12th Ave S. Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of SouthComm, Inc.
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Website powered by Foundation