In its effort to approximate New Orleans in Kansas City, Jazz: a Louisiana Kitchen, on 39th Street, is loud and boisterous without being cheesy. Swing, blues and jazz bands play here six nights a week to a large melting pot of people who show up for reasonably priced boiled crawfish, raw oysters and cold Abita drafts. Jazz has an authentic, rough charm and no-apologies attitude - perfect for the niche-y 39th Street Restaurant Row. If the music, dancing or occasional nonlocal whooping customers get to be too much, there’s room at the adjoining bar, Jimmy's Jigger, with the KU Med students and daytime drunks.

Restaurant Details

Features: , , , , , , , , , ,

Price: $-$$
Payment Type: All Major Credit Cards

Parking: Free, Lot Available, Street


Reservations: Not Accepted

Upcoming Events

See all upcoming events at Jazz »

Past Events

  • Rich Berry

    • Sun., Feb. 9, Sun., Feb. 23, Sun., March 9, Sun., March 23, Sun., April 13, Sun., April 20 and Sun., April 27 2014
  • Mike and Doc

    • Wed., Feb. 12, Wed., March 12 and Wed., April 9 2014
  • Garrett Nordstrom

    • Sat., Feb. 22 2014

See all past events at Jazz »

Reviews/comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a review


Roll over stars and click to rate.

Map

Nearby

Related User Lists

All contents ©2015 Kansas City Pitch LLC
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of Kansas City Pitch LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.

All contents © 2012 SouthComm, Inc. 210 12th Ave S. Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of SouthComm, Inc.
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Website powered by Foundation