Monday, June 6, 2011

Mario Chalmers hits another big three ... but should it have counted? (video)

Posted By on Mon, Jun 6, 2011 at 3:00 PM



In a game decided by two points, this buzzer-beating three-pointer at the end of the first quarter by Miami Heat point guard Mario Chalmers was a biggie. But should the shot by the former Kansas Jayhawk have counted? There's a lot of argument out there. Pro Basketball Talk's Kurt Helin and Ball Don't Lie's Kelly Dwyer say no, that it should have been a back-court violation.

However, RefCalls.com argues that the shot should have counted because the NBA's rulebook doesn't address the way that Chalmers caught the ball. I tend to agree with RefCalls' interpretation. Either way, Chalmers' shot alone didn't sink the Dallas Mavericks, who missed free throws and open threes and somehow let Chris Bosh get open to hit the game winner. Still, seeing Chalmers hit a desperation three was another reminder of his overtime forcing, clutch three-pointer against Memphis in the 2008 NCAA finals.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Most Popular Stories

Slideshows

All contents ©2015 Kansas City Pitch LLC
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of Kansas City Pitch LLC,
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.

All contents © 2012 SouthComm, Inc. 210 12th Ave S. Ste. 100, Nashville, TN 37203. (615) 244-7989.
All rights reserved. No part of this service may be reproduced in any form without the express written permission of SouthComm, Inc.
except that an individual may download and/or forward articles via email to a reasonable number of recipients for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Website powered by Foundation