The St. Louis Post-Dispatch's Political Fix writes that legislation which would require parental consent for anyone 17 years old or younger to get into a tanning bed is headed to the floor of the Missouri Senate.
HB 1475, sponsored by state Rep. Gary Cross (R-Lee's Summit) was passed by the Missouri House and advanced out of the Senate General Laws Committee yesterday. A parent would have to sign a consent form annually, and a tanning bed parlor that violated the proposed statute could face a fine of $1,000 for each unauthorized session.
The Missouri Legislature has a week left in the current session to consider the tanning bed legislation and whether teens have the right to tan.
Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook.